Untitled Artwork

balance

This time last week I was with friends, taking in a show at the Granada theater.

Tonight I am sick, sitting on the couch with my macbook, and planning homeschool curriculum for the next week.

The second is much more in keeping with my normal activities, but the diversion of a show every once in a while is nice.

I realized I have been going to see bands play with the same people for the past (almost) 20 years. When it's only occasional, it doesn't feel like stalling out. It feels like a celebration of what was.

But perhaps the beard and I are the only ones who feel that way, because I sense a growing divide between the everyday lives of our friends, and the direction which we have been called to go in. It is worrisome when people refuse to grow up. To the young, I'm sure it looks like the right choice, but from this vantage point, it looks sad more than anything. Much more fun than I'm having most days? Sure. But there is a hollowness to it I can't get past.

Careful not to judge, but I also must hold others in account. So much to balance.

8:34 p.m. - 2013-05-13

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

a legit email address

random entry

other diaries:

usb-port
theways
theshivers
thecity
troilus
tenderpoison
swordfern
whitepigeon
son-souvenir
spit-tears
shoelacepunk
secret-motel
se7enchance
rhetoric
raven72d
remember-it
witty-remark
poetinthesky
papotheclown
orangepeeler
nepenthean
narcissa
moodswing
loveherwell
jimbostaxi
jarofporter
i-lost-sarah
hitch-hike
glorycloud
frostopia
ernst
defaults
christ666
cellini
caudelac
bridgecity
bantenhut
bliss-sad
blubbles
amazinfuckup
boombasticat
babyhead
alethia
ophelia79
skatingparty
achmardi