Untitled Artwork

Mt. Joy

John meets me after class.

“I know you're off work today. You should come with me. I’ve got a surprise.”

The school is already in the middle of nowhere, a collection of dorms and halls on either side of the highway, with little else around it. We drive further into nowhere.

We haven’t been dating long, about four months, but I’ve known him almost a year. I already know his face when I close my eyes - the gold flecks in his irises, the stubble, the freckles on his lips.

I thought I was familiar with this area of Texas, so I’m surprised by the subtle change in elevation. We turn onto a narrow farm road, slowly climbing upwards, until there is a break in the trees that reveals a small vista. He pulls over. From the backseat he pulls out his camera.

Mt. Joy. It’s not a mountain; there are no mountains in this part of the state. It’s just a big hill, surrounded by miles of flat land and trees. Still, it is gorgeous. I watch him while he works. Once he is satisfied he puts the camera away and holds me while we lean against the hood of his car.

When we get back he walks me inside and his hands are everywhere. I can’t get enough.

Years later I will look it up again, just to assure myself that it’s real. There it is on the map, it’s existence confirmed only by an old cemetery.

Mt. Joy.

I’ve been thinking about it for a long time.

***

We store these things about other people. And then what?

I’ll never have to unlearn your rhythms

10:19 a.m. - 2023-06-03

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

a legit email address

random entry

other diaries:

usb-port
theways
theshivers
thecity
troilus
tenderpoison
swordfern
whitepigeon
son-souvenir
spit-tears
shoelacepunk
secret-motel
se7enchance
rhetoric
raven72d
remember-it
witty-remark
poetinthesky
papotheclown
orangepeeler
nepenthean
narcissa
moodswing
loveherwell
jimbostaxi
jarofporter
i-lost-sarah
hitch-hike
glorycloud
frostopia
ernst
defaults
christ666
cellini
caudelac
bridgecity
bantenhut
bliss-sad
blubbles
amazinfuckup
boombasticat
babyhead
alethia
ophelia79
skatingparty
achmardi