Untitled Artwork

Let’s Pretend We’re Bunny Rabbits

Covid, round three. It’s very mild this time, and I’m bored out of my mind. Apparently I’m fine being a homebody until I’m forced to stay home, at which point I suddenly become restless. I actually made plans this weekend! With people! So of course this would happen.

In my boredom I’ve been going through old photos and found this gem which, while mildly horrifying, always makes me laugh:

Rabbits

Nine-year-old me thought this was an excellent idea. When gifted a pad of giant paper, I thought ’Yes! This is the perfect material to construct rabbit costumes!’.

Typical younger Jen. Big Ideas. Questionable execution. For the record, I’m in the back on the left, pictured with my childhood best friend, Lauren, and my little sister.

Every time I see this picture, I think of the Magnetic Fields song ‘Let’s Pretend We’re Bunny Rabbits’. I suppose the song is lyrically inappropriate, given the photo, but that’s where my mind goes.

If anyone else needs a good laugh today, or nightmare fuel (if that’s your thing), I hope you enjoy this photo.

And I realize we look absolutely nothing like rabbits.

9:42 p.m. - 2023-08-11

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

a legit email address

random entry

other diaries:

usb-port
theways
theshivers
thecity
troilus
tenderpoison
swordfern
whitepigeon
son-souvenir
spit-tears
shoelacepunk
secret-motel
se7enchance
rhetoric
raven72d
remember-it
witty-remark
poetinthesky
papotheclown
orangepeeler
nepenthean
narcissa
moodswing
loveherwell
jimbostaxi
jarofporter
i-lost-sarah
hitch-hike
glorycloud
frostopia
ernst
defaults
christ666
cellini
caudelac
bridgecity
bantenhut
bliss-sad
blubbles
amazinfuckup
boombasticat
babyhead
alethia
ophelia79
skatingparty
achmardi