Untitled Artwork

tantrum

The midsummer malaise has arrived.

My garden is the garden of chaos and neglect. Things need trimmed and trellised and cared for, but I would much rather be sitting in the pool with a drink in my hand. Maybe I'll be different, better, come fall.

(Better, in all of its forms, is always a future state of being, never the present. Lying to myself helps, if only just a little.)

My energy, both mental and physical, is a precious commodity and I've been working on guarding it more closely. If that means neglecting the garden, so be it. Not falling prey to the sunk-cost fallacy at the risk of what little contentment I can manage.

The pain has been worse the past few days, tipping over into that place where I can't give all of me to anything else. I hate that it's making me irritable and moody. Sensory shit is through the roof.

I don't enjoy being this unpleasant. It makes me feel like a petulant thirteen-year-old, something I haven't been in 30 years. The upside is that I'm not actually thirteen anymore (thank god!) and I can laugh at myself, even while feeling this way.

Plus, you know, alcohol, which is my plan for the evening.

2:41 p.m. - 2023-07-21

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

a legit email address

random entry

other diaries:

spit-tears
usb-port
theways
theshivers
thecity
troilus
tenderpoison
swordfern
shoelacepunk
son-souvenir
secret-motel
se7enchance
rhetoric
remember-it
raven72d
orangepeeler
poetinthesky
papotheclown
noregularman
narcissa
moodswing
nepenthean
loveherwell
jimbostaxi
jarofporter
i-lost-sarah
hitch-hike
glorycloud
frostopia
ernst
defaults
christ666
cellini
caudelac
bridgecity
boombasticat
blubbles
bliss-sad
amazinfuckup
babyhead
bantenhut
alethia
achmardi
skatingparty
ophelia79
whitepigeon
witty-remarks