Untitled Artwork

repetitions

Memories are the stories you tell yourself over and over, and I've been telling myself the wrong stories. Yesterday I re-read a few old entries from my early 20s (lord knows why) and I wish the memories I'd held on to had been different. Less about someone who I’m now realizing was unworthy of my time and mental energy. More about the day-to-day. More about the people who showed up for me.

And sometimes, honestly, I wish I had a brain that didn’t feel the constant need to retread these paths.

***

Well, the eight inches became something more like ten, and my hair is now a shoulder length bob. A little longer and softer than the one I had in my 20s & 30s. I feel like myself again.

Which reminds me of one small, funny thing that I do remember quite clearly, something from when I was still working in retail as a poor college student (before I started working for corporate and traveling as a visual designer).

A customer came up to me, took one look at my newly cut hair, and told me “Your hair look fake.” I first thought she was asking if I was wearing a wig (rude?) but after a few moments she clarified that she just really liked my hair. When I shared this with Mary and Taylor they both found it hysterical, and on the rare occasions we see one another, one of them will usually say it to me.

***

Maybe today will be more productive & less painful. Maybe my brain will let up on me.

9:02 a.m. - 2023-07-23

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

a legit email address

random entry

other diaries:

spit-tears
usb-port
theways
theshivers
thecity
troilus
tenderpoison
swordfern
shoelacepunk
son-souvenir
secret-motel
se7enchance
rhetoric
remember-it
raven72d
orangepeeler
poetinthesky
papotheclown
noregularman
narcissa
moodswing
nepenthean
loveherwell
jimbostaxi
jarofporter
i-lost-sarah
hitch-hike
glorycloud
frostopia
ernst
defaults
christ666
cellini
caudelac
bridgecity
boombasticat
blubbles
bliss-sad
amazinfuckup
babyhead
bantenhut
alethia
achmardi
skatingparty
ophelia79
whitepigeon
witty-remarks