Untitled Artwork

recoil

Sleep has been scarce this week.

I'm deep in the hole of some of my worst behaviors. These cyclical thought patterns, speeding up and crashing in on themselves, are multiplying my anxiety.

Is the lack of sleep the cause or the effect?

The drawing helps. The drawing hurts.

Pushing outside of my comfort zone is, well, uncomfortable. I know the practice and repetition are necessary, but I’m impatient with the process. I hate when things don’t come naturally to me, and I wonder if I can ever push myself in the direction I want to go. Maybe my brain just isn’t wired that way.

But I’m also doing more of the work I love, the work inside of my comfort zone, or rather comfort-zone-adjacent. To what end, I do not know.

There’s a group of artists that meet locally, and recently I’ve been thinking about joining. I avoided it for the longest time, for fear of running into C, but I recently confirmed he participates in a different group. All of these years I’ve managed not to see him, but some part of me still fears he could pop up unexpectedly. He only lives twenty minutes away.

Anyhow, I think it would be good to get out of the house more, and out of my head, so I might move forward with it. Maybe my brain would calm the fuck down.

The anxiety has been making me irritable, and I know it.

I really wish, more than anything, that people would quit sending me horrific looking promotional materials and telling me to ‘jazz them up’.

Please, please just let me do my job. It’s mortifying that anyone might think I actually designed this stuff. Save us both some time. I’m not jazzing up the awful flyer you made in Word. I’m starting that shit over from scratch.

Amen.

10:48 p.m. - 2023-09-22

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

a legit email address

random entry

other diaries:

usb-port
theways
theshivers
thecity
troilus
tenderpoison
swordfern
whitepigeon
son-souvenir
spit-tears
shoelacepunk
secret-motel
se7enchance
rhetoric
raven72d
remember-it
witty-remark
poetinthesky
papotheclown
orangepeeler
nepenthean
narcissa
moodswing
loveherwell
jimbostaxi
jarofporter
i-lost-sarah
hitch-hike
glorycloud
frostopia
ernst
defaults
christ666
cellini
caudelac
bridgecity
bantenhut
bliss-sad
blubbles
amazinfuckup
boombasticat
babyhead
alethia
ophelia79
skatingparty
achmardi