Untitled Artwork

absurd

My sister messages, 11 pm, to inquire about the death of an old classmate. But it’s more than an inquiry. She wants to talk about it, about all of it.

We feel too young to have to worry about dying, but I guess not.

It’s still quite young, I tell her. But is that true? I’ve been surrounded by an unusual amount of loss this year. This is the fourth person under 45 since March.

I find myself frozen in these instances. There is something broken in the way I emote. I’ve known this since my grandmother died when I was 20. In the past I would have offered up prayer, or empty platitudes. What now?

The framework for who am I has been slowly shifting for years. I can no longer attribute higher meaning to love, pain, or loss. During the earliest hours of last Tuesday, as I tried to read myself to sleep, I re-read “The Tragedy of the Leaves”:

what was needed now / was a good comedian, ancient style, a jester / with jokes upon absurd pain; pain is absurd / because it exists, nothing more

When I read this a week ago, I was thinking more of my physical pain. Pain that in many ways has re-written who I am.

But now I think of my friends Alyse and Melissa, who both lost younger brothers this week. I think of John who passed this summer, and Alex before him. I think of my sister-in-law, who laid her mother to rest last month. Aida - beautiful, vibrant, and always laughing - died scared and trapped inside her own mind. What sense is there in any of it? Absurd indeed.

On my best days I still have hope, though in what I’m not always sure. Maybe it’s in what we share with one another. Showing up for people. There may be a higher power. There may not. But either way, love can be pretty transcendental.

11:28 p.m. - 2023-09-25

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

a legit email address

random entry

other diaries:

usb-port
theways
theshivers
thecity
troilus
tenderpoison
swordfern
whitepigeon
son-souvenir
spit-tears
shoelacepunk
secret-motel
se7enchance
rhetoric
raven72d
remember-it
witty-remark
poetinthesky
papotheclown
orangepeeler
nepenthean
narcissa
moodswing
loveherwell
jimbostaxi
jarofporter
i-lost-sarah
hitch-hike
glorycloud
frostopia
ernst
defaults
christ666
cellini
caudelac
bridgecity
bantenhut
bliss-sad
blubbles
amazinfuckup
boombasticat
babyhead
alethia
ophelia79
skatingparty
achmardi