Untitled Artwork

the unknown core


I know what I meant to say, but intention is useless if the words come out wrong. (Which is often the case in the heat of the moment.) And, because I am the worst, I doubled down on the sentiment after the cooling-off period.

Unintentionally, of course.

So now, as I lay awake in the middle of the night and reflect on the past few days, I've come to a few conclusions. The biggest is that I don't like who I am when I'm in a relationship - a statement that sounds ridiculous coming from someone who has been in one for the past almost 20 years. When things are good I'm good, but the moment things get tough I begin to collapse in on myself like a dying star .

Despite whatever I (very unintentionally) said to the contrary on Saturday, I have no interest in leaving this relationship. I'm happy in an overall kind of way, even though there are rough patches. However, if it were to end for some reason, I'm not sure I would pursue another one. There are too many unpredictable variables; too much potential for pain. Too many ways for my brain to lie to me.

In these moments of conflict, I wish my brain didn't shut down. There are those thoughts and feelings that are easily identifiable but, more often than not, it's the nucleus of feeling that gets away from me. Something deep within that's difficult to understand, articulate, or control.

Still learning, still growing. Still figuring out how to curb the worst of my impulses. Still learning how to be a living, breathing human in close proximity to other humans.

Usually feeling that I fall short.

2:28 a.m. - 2023-12-12

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

a legit email address

random entry

other diaries:

se7enchance
witty-remarks
whitepigeon
secret-motel
usb-port
thecity
theshivers
tenderpoison
troilus
swordfern
spit-tears
son-souvenir
shoelacepunk
rhetoric
remember-it
orangepeeler
papotheclown
poetinthesky
raven72d
theways
noregularman
nepenthean
narcissa
moodswing
loveherwell
jimbostaxi
jarofporter
i-lost-sarah
hitch-hike
glorycloud
fungal-nail
frostopia
defaults
ernst
christ666
cellini
caudelac
bridgecity
bliss-sad
blubbles
bantenhut
boombasticat
babyhead
alethia
amazinfuckup
achmardi
skatingparty
ophelia79