Untitled Artwork

january

I stay in bed when I should be getting up, getting ready for work.

Ten minutes.
Another fifteen.
An hour in total.

I am, officially, five minutes into the start of my workday before I even push up out of bed. Eventually, I put on my clothes - a casual dress, cardigan, and flats - before brushing out my hair. I don’t bother with makeup because I feel like shit, but I do allow myself a spray of perfume. As though that will magically make it seem like I've pulled myself together.

I know I'm lucky to have a job with this kind of flexibility. I remind myself of that fact as I walk into my office and take a seat at my desk. In some ways, it's an ideal job. But I've come to loathe the repetition and monotony. The job is a vestige of a past self, wrapped in a belief system I no longer hold dear. That, perhaps, I never really held at all.

Like almost everything else in my life, this is a waiting game.
That doesn't seem right, does it?

The husband has been home sick all week. I hate that he is sick, but I also hate that this has thrown off my daily routine at a time when I desperately need things to return to normal. This turn of events, coupled with post-holiday recovery, has made me more withdrawn than usual this week, something he makes sure to point out and then read into.

The cold, gray skies that I love in November are now unwanted, having overstayed their welcome. I’d give anything for a little warmth.

I feel unsettled, uncomfortable in my own skin.

This too shall pass.

10:59 a.m. - 2024-01-05

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

a legit email address

random entry

other diaries:

whitepigeon
witty-remark
theways
usb-port
thecity
orangepeeler
tenderpoison
troilus
spit-tears
swordfern
son-souvenir
shoelacepunk
se7enchance
secret-motel
theshivers
rhetoric
remember-it
raven72d
poetinthesky
papotheclown
noregularman
nepenthean
narcissa
moodswing
loveherwell
jimbostaxi
jarofporter
i-lost-sarah
hitch-hike
glorycloud
fungal-nail
frostopia
ernst
defaults
christ666
cellini
bliss-sad
blubbles
caudelac
bridgecity
boombasticat
bantenhut
babyhead
amazinfuckup
skatingparty
alethia
achmardi
ophelia79