Untitled Artwork

no good, very bad


Years and years ago, when we were newlyweds, we had a tight knit group of friends with whom we spent most of our free time. We got together on Sunday evenings to make dinner, drink, and visit. Threw a big party every couple of months. And, of course, we would all spend NYE together.

Every New Year’s Eve, without fail, our friend Jason would make it his aim to get epically drunk. The kind of drunk that makes you want to swear off of drinking forever. His reasoning was that he wanted to get the worst day of the year out of the way right off the bat. Every year, without fail, Jason would spend New Year’s Day with a massive hangover. And every year, without fail, there would always be worse days. Because that’s life.

I haven’t seen Jason in years, but I am thinking about him this afternoon. No, I didn’t get epically drunk last night. I drank my share of Prosecco, true, but we stayed in this year and it was a pretty quiet evening. No hangover. Just dealing, once again, with the fallout of how my brain works and the impact of that fallout on the people around me.

I am by no means naive enough to think today will be the worst day of my year, but wouldn’t it be nice if you could just get the worst day of the year out of the way on January 1st? To know, definitively, that things can only look up from here?

If only.

But, alas, the brain I have today will be the brain I have tomorrow, the brain I have in March, and the brain I take into 2025. There will be days when I cry more than I’ve cried today. Days when the physical pain is unbearable. Days when I hurt or get hurt by those I care for.

I can only hope to grow in my self-understanding, emotional intelligence, ability to love, and patience.

Everything else is beyond my control. Ugh.

2:36 p.m. - 2024-01-01

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

a legit email address

random entry

other diaries:

whitepigeon
witty-remark
theways
usb-port
thecity
orangepeeler
tenderpoison
troilus
spit-tears
swordfern
son-souvenir
shoelacepunk
se7enchance
secret-motel
theshivers
rhetoric
remember-it
raven72d
poetinthesky
papotheclown
noregularman
nepenthean
narcissa
moodswing
loveherwell
jimbostaxi
jarofporter
i-lost-sarah
hitch-hike
glorycloud
fungal-nail
frostopia
ernst
defaults
christ666
cellini
bliss-sad
blubbles
caudelac
bridgecity
boombasticat
bantenhut
babyhead
amazinfuckup
skatingparty
alethia
achmardi
ophelia79