Untitled Artwork

manifesting

The husband, very sick, taking a medication induced nap.
The youngest, asleep on the sofa after staying up all night with a friend.
The oldest, at work.

Myself, sitting in my recliner, reading. That I am sitting up at all is a marked improvement from earlier this week - I'm recovering from a flare that left me practically bed bound for several days.

But back to today - I'm awake until I'm not. My mid-day dreams always tend to be a bit sharper; slightly more narrative. Often strangely post-apocalyptic. I am weaving stories in my sleep, designed for my amusement alone, interspersed with dream logic and non-sequitors.

The faces that populate my dreams are so often the faces of people I knew when I was young. Today it was Katie, of the inside jokes, who is now some sort of life coach, living in Hill Country. And John, my first love, who is now in East Texas living precisely the sort of life he swore he wouldn’t.

Mercifully C, whom I’ve come to think of as The Mulberry Boy, has largely been absent from my dreams for the past several months.

After two weeks of feeling worse than usual, I’m claiming today as a good day, ignoring the niggling cough that’s snuck up over the course of the morning. By tomorrow I’ll likely be fully sick with whatever the husband has contracted, but today will be a good day.

1:28 p.m. - 2024-01-28

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

a legit email address

random entry

other diaries:

whitepigeon
witty-remark
theways
usb-port
thecity
orangepeeler
tenderpoison
troilus
spit-tears
swordfern
son-souvenir
shoelacepunk
se7enchance
secret-motel
theshivers
rhetoric
remember-it
raven72d
poetinthesky
papotheclown
noregularman
nepenthean
narcissa
moodswing
loveherwell
jimbostaxi
jarofporter
i-lost-sarah
hitch-hike
glorycloud
fungal-nail
frostopia
ernst
defaults
christ666
cellini
bliss-sad
blubbles
caudelac
bridgecity
boombasticat
bantenhut
babyhead
amazinfuckup
skatingparty
alethia
achmardi
ophelia79