Untitled Artwork

cocoon


Woke at 4:50.

Sleep is never a certainty for me, and even when it does come, it rarely keeps tidy hours. I at least try to lay down when Cory does, to enjoy the weight of his arm wrapped around my chest, to feel his warmth behind me.

Sleep has never been a problem for him.

***

Two nights ago we had one of those unexpected Texas summer storms. The forecast had only hinted at rain, but instead we got the full show, followed by the most gorgeous lavender and coral sunset.

Summer storms may be one of my favorite things about living in this area. The guys once wrote a song about it, just after EC broke up and I was no longer playing bass for them. It was on the first EP that TSS put out, back before my husband started drumming for them, maybe before I met him. I can’t find it online anymore, but I believe I have a copy somewhere in my closet that I need to unearth. That song is now 20 years old and one band removed, but I think about it more than almost anything the guys have written before or since.

The rainfall was enough that I haven’t had to water the garden the past couple of days. All the better as I’ve been cane dependent since Friday. RA is a bitch and all that. I did go outside long enough to enjoy the morning temps. I can tell the month by the wildflowers, and the butter-hued fringe of desert chicory dotting the yard signifies that it’s almost June.

Soon it will be too miserably hot to enjoy much of anything outdoors. Even the pool is too hot come August.

I’ll sit inside with the curtains drawn, in a dark room with the A/C turned down, wrapped in a thin blanket, fully denying that it’s 105 degrees outside. My friend Brit used to call this ‘cocooning’. Then she moved somewhere with a more temperate climate. Can’t say that I blame her.

10:29 a.m. - 2023-05-31

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

a legit email address

random entry

other diaries:

usb-port
theways
theshivers
thecity
troilus
tenderpoison
swordfern
whitepigeon
son-souvenir
spit-tears
shoelacepunk
secret-motel
se7enchance
rhetoric
raven72d
remember-it
witty-remark
poetinthesky
papotheclown
orangepeeler
nepenthean
narcissa
moodswing
loveherwell
jimbostaxi
jarofporter
i-lost-sarah
hitch-hike
glorycloud
frostopia
ernst
defaults
christ666
cellini
caudelac
bridgecity
bantenhut
bliss-sad
blubbles
amazinfuckup
boombasticat
babyhead
alethia
ophelia79
skatingparty
achmardi