Untitled Artwork

the heat will melt your brain

Accidentally had too much to drink last night. The headache has passed, but I still feel out of sorts.

I blame it on August.

The husband texted me yesterday, telling me that everything was getting under his skin. It was just one of those days and he wasn’t sure why.

It’s the heat I told him. This happens every August.

The heat becomes its own entity, growing and growing, until it crowds everything else out.

After work we both laid down on the bed, abandoning the normal rhythm of our Friday evenings. I don’t really remember what we talked about, only that I like feeling the vibrations of his voice when my head is resting on his chest. A much needed reset.

When we got up we ordered food from my second favorite taqueria (my favorite doesn’t deliver and neither of us felt like driving across town) and he made margaritas. I’m not much for sugary drinks, but they seemed like a good idea in the moment. Not so much this morning.

He just got a significant amount of hair lopped off, and the soft, shorn sides are now almost completely silver. It looks good, but I will miss seeing him tuck his hair behind his ears. For some reason I’ve had a thing for that - wavy, salt and pepper hair, tucked behind ears - since seeing Wayne Coyne do it sometime in the early aughts. Small and specific, but makes me swoon.

Strange to think that this time last year we were both so close to giving up - exhausted, defeated, and just going through the motions. So many empty conversations, not saying the things that really needed to be said.

Oh, the difference a year can make. That, and shifting my perspective into a healthier place.

7:19 a.m. - 2023-08-26

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

a legit email address

random entry

other diaries:

usb-port
theways
theshivers
thecity
troilus
tenderpoison
swordfern
whitepigeon
son-souvenir
spit-tears
shoelacepunk
secret-motel
se7enchance
rhetoric
raven72d
remember-it
witty-remark
poetinthesky
papotheclown
orangepeeler
nepenthean
narcissa
moodswing
loveherwell
jimbostaxi
jarofporter
i-lost-sarah
hitch-hike
glorycloud
frostopia
ernst
defaults
christ666
cellini
caudelac
bridgecity
bantenhut
bliss-sad
blubbles
amazinfuckup
boombasticat
babyhead
alethia
ophelia79
skatingparty
achmardi