Untitled Artwork

-


At work.

My “sad sack” playlist is on shuffle. This playlist has earned its title, not because it’s necessarily my go-to ‘sad’ playlist, but because Ray said it “sounds like what a depressed middle schooler would listen to”. I don’t completely agree with that sentiment, but I change the title of the playlist as a concession to the fact that Ray is also not entirely wrong.

Plus, I’m not going to lie, I do sometimes listen to this playlist when I am in a little too much in my feelings; when the melancholy hits.

BUT if I were to intentionally put together a list of songs to listen to when I'm sad, it wouldn’t be this exact list.

Saturday by Yo La Tengo comes on and I realize that, like the song, I am “out of tune”, staring into nothing at my work computer. I have quit typing. My eyes have ceased to focus. I am transported. I am 22, laying on the banks of a pond, hidden in the gently waving grass, gazing into a star-studded October sky, listening to this song over and over again in my headphones. Trying to be numb, because numb is a way to shore up the feelings.

I often feel that I would like to write, but also feel I haven’t earned that right or lack the ability. Almost forgetting all of the college courses I took with that express intent. The imposter syndrome takes over, and I recall the decisions that led me to instead graduate with a fine arts degree. The desire passes. No, it doesn’t pass. I just push it back down again. Shoring up desires, just like I shore up my feelings.

It’s not healthy – I can at least acknowledge that.

If I had to do it all over again, I would have gone to school elsewhere. Maybe Austin or Denton. But in order to make that decision, I would have had to been a completely different person at 18 – someone braver, someone ready for the world. And I wasn’t that person at that point in time.

I don’t know what I’m trying to say.

Music has the ability to transport.

11:14 a.m. - 2023-05-11

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

a legit email address

random entry

other diaries:

usb-port
theways
theshivers
thecity
troilus
tenderpoison
swordfern
whitepigeon
son-souvenir
spit-tears
shoelacepunk
secret-motel
se7enchance
rhetoric
raven72d
remember-it
witty-remark
poetinthesky
papotheclown
orangepeeler
nepenthean
narcissa
moodswing
loveherwell
jimbostaxi
jarofporter
i-lost-sarah
hitch-hike
glorycloud
frostopia
ernst
defaults
christ666
cellini
caudelac
bridgecity
bantenhut
bliss-sad
blubbles
amazinfuckup
boombasticat
babyhead
alethia
ophelia79
skatingparty
achmardi