Untitled Artwork

Apologies for the parentheses

I've known them since I was 18 or so - M & B, two of my husband's best friends.

I met them both the summer after my senior year of high school. We all went to the same college that fall (at least for a short time). Eventually I played in a band with them (I was a terrible musician). We went to shows together, hung out on weekends. Had late night talks about serious things, but also ridiculous things. One of them married (and then much later divorced) one of my closest friends.

I didn't meet my husband for another six years - after I graduated with my bachelor's degree. And he slipped into my friend group like he was always meant to be there.

Now I am a happy hermit, and he has been playing music with them for 18 years. The vast majority of the time he hangs out with them while I stay home to read.

Somehow, over the past few months, they have started hanging out with my dad, of all people, sitting in my parent's pool house, watching football or hockey, drinking my dad's home brews.

This is nothing. This isn't any kind of deep thought tonight. Just acknowledging that it's odd. And kinda sweet and funny.

12:15 a.m. - 2023-05-16

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

a legit email address

random entry

other diaries:

usb-port
theways
theshivers
thecity
troilus
tenderpoison
swordfern
whitepigeon
son-souvenir
spit-tears
shoelacepunk
secret-motel
se7enchance
rhetoric
raven72d
remember-it
witty-remark
poetinthesky
papotheclown
orangepeeler
nepenthean
narcissa
moodswing
loveherwell
jimbostaxi
jarofporter
i-lost-sarah
hitch-hike
glorycloud
frostopia
ernst
defaults
christ666
cellini
caudelac
bridgecity
bantenhut
bliss-sad
blubbles
amazinfuckup
boombasticat
babyhead
alethia
ophelia79
skatingparty
achmardi